Seeds of LIVES

30 Sep 2020

Call for projets

The Interdisciplinary Research Centre LIVES-UNIL presents Seeds of LIVES, a new type of funding dedicated to research projects still in their conception phase and seeking to submit important funding requests. This fund is ideal to support the launching of larger scale interdisciplinary and/or international projects in the partner faculties of the LIVES Centre-UNIL. 

The LIVES UNIL interdisciplinary research launches a new tool to favour the emergence of interdisciplinary research projects on the life course and vulnerabilities. Advanced researchers (which have a contract at UNIL) are invited to submit projects aiming at launching a new research or to prepare a project funding application until September 30 2020. The objective of this Call is to accompany and give support during the finding request process that can be associated to the LIVES-UNIL Centre and furthermore to the Swiss Expertise Centre in Research on the life course and vulnerabilities (Swiss Centre of Expertise in Life Course Research LIVES, Universities of Lausanne and Geneva). The funding is available and should be invested during 2020-2021.

The total available amount for this Call is 100’000 CHF. The order of magnitude for these funds will be distributed according to the scope of each project, and will range from 10'000 CHF for projects aiming at funds for less than  100'000 CHF and up to 30'000 CHF for projects aiming at more considerable amounts from external sources (FNS, international agencies, foundations, etc.). The fund request/application should be completed within 12 months following the obtainment of a « Seeds of LIVES » fund. Publications and projects directly supported by this fund will automatically e associated to the LIVES-UNIL Centre. If other funds are solicited, these will be mentioned in your project proposal.

This Call is limited (in terms of applicants) to the partner faculties of the LIVES-UNIL Centre: SSP, FBM, FDCA, FTSR et HEC.

The theme of the project should be on the life course and vulnerabilities. The interdisciplinary projects will be privileged, as well as projects developed by co-applicants originating from different Research Units, Institutes or Faculties.

The prerequisite conditions to applications are:

  • Holding a PhD
  • Having a work contract at UNIL which covers the duration of the funding period of the final project (ex. Professor, MER).

An expert Committee constituted of the LIVES-UNIL bureau members will evaluate the projects based on these criteria:

  • Quality of the project
  • Centrality on the life course and vulnerabilities
  • The project adopts an interdisciplinary approach
  • The project is submitted by an advanced researcher, which is affiliated to UNIL and to one of the 5 mentioned Faculties
  • A project proposal will be made to an external source (FNS or other) in the 12 months following the obtention of the “seed money”.

To submit your application, please send the following documents in English:

  • Description of your project (5 pages; 2’000 words maximum) along with the budget and detailed schedule
  • CV of applicants (1 page) with the list of publications during the last 5 years

For more information and to submit your applications, please contact us at lives.scientific@unil.ch, specifying you interest for the Seeds of LIVES Call.

What does "Seed Money" mean?

"Seed Money" is a sum of money made available to support a project still in its design phase. This amount is made available to the people developing the project in order to pay for hours of work devoted to the realization of the project in order to eventually submit important requests for external funding. "Seed Money" is therefore a funding which intervenes at the very beginning of the gestation of a research project in order to allow it to develop. It is the opportunity to concretize a project that only exists on paper!

Seeds of LIVES

30 Juin - 30 Sep 2020

Appel à projets

Le Centre interdisciplinaire de recherche LIVES UNIL présente Seeds of LIVES un nouveau type de financement consacré à des projets de recherche encore dans leur phase de conception et cherchant à termes à soumettre des requêtes de financement importantes. Ce fond est idéal pour soutenir le lancement de projets interdisciplinaires et/ou internationaux à plus grand échelle dans les facultés partenaires du Centre LIVES-UNIL.

Le Centre interdisciplinaire de recherche LIVES UNIL lance un nouvel outil en vue de favoriser l’émergence de projets de recherche interdisciplinaire sur les parcours de vie et les vulnérabilités. Les chercheuses et chercheurs avancé-e-s (qui ont un contrat à l’UNIL) sont invité-e-s à soumettre des projets de lancement de recherche ou de soutien pour des requêtes jusqu’au 30 septembre 2020. L’objectif de cet appel est de faire émerger et de soutenir le financement de projets qui pourront être associés au centre LIVES-UNIL et par conséquent au Centre Suisse d’Expertise en recherche sur les parcours de vie et la vulnérabilité (Swiss Center of Expertise in Life Course Research LIVES, Universités de Lausanne et Genève). Le financement est disponible et devra être investi en 2020-2021.

La somme disponible globale est de 100’000 CHF. L’ordre de grandeur des financements alloués aux divers projets est lié à leur envergure et sera de l’ordre de 10'000 CHF pour des projets visant un financement total de moins de 100'000 CHF et peut aller jusqu’à 30'000 CHF pour des projets visant des financements plus importants auprès de sources externes (FNS, agences internationales, fondations, etc.). Les requêtes de financement doivent être réalisées dans les 12 mois suivant l’obtention d’un fonds de « Seeds of LIVES ». Les publications liées à ce financement et les projets qui ont été soutenus par ce fonds seront automatiquement associés au Centre LIVES-UNIL. Si d’autres financements ont été sollicités, ceux-ci doivent être mentionnés dans le projet.

Ce concours est limité (en ce qui concerne les requérants) aux facultés partenaires du Centre LIVES-UNIL : SSP, FBM, FDCA, FTSR et HEC.

Le thème du projet doit porter sur les parcours de vie et la vulnérabilité. Les projets interdisciplinaires seront privilégiés, ainsi que les projets portés par des co-requérants provenant de différentes unités de recherche, instituts ou facultés.

Les conditions pré-requises pour postuler sont :

  • Détenir un doctorat
  • Avoir un contrat de travail à l’UNIL qui va au-delà de la fin du financement de la requête finale (p. ex. Professeur-e-s, MER).

Un comité d’expert-e constitué de membres du bureau de LIVES-UNIL s’appuiera sur les critères d’évaluation suivants pour sélectionner les projets:

  • Qualité du projet
  • Centralité des parcours de vie et de la vulnérabilité
  • Le projet doit adopter une approche interdisciplinaire
  • Le projet est déposé par une chercheuse ou un chercheur avancé-e-s affilié-e à l’UNIL et à une des 5 facultés mentionnées
  • Le projet vise un financement auprès d’une source externe (FNS ou autre) dans les 12 mois après l’obtention du « seed money ».

Pour soumettre votre candidature, veuillez nous faire parvenir les documents suivants en anglais :

  • Description du projet (5 pages ; 2’000 mots maximum) avec budget et planification détaillés
  • CV des requérants-es (1 page) avec liste des publications des 5 dernières années

Pour plus de renseignements et adresser vos projets, veuillez contacter lives.scientific@unil.ch en mentionnant le call Seeds of LIVES.

Que signifie le terme "Seed Money"?

Le terme "Seed Money" renvoie à une somme débloquée afin de soutenir un projet encore dans sa phase de conception. Ce montant est mis à disposition des personnes développant le projet afin de payer des heures de travail consacrées à la concrétisation du projet afin de, à termes, soumettre des demandes de financement externe importantes. Le "Seed Money" est donc un financement qui intervient tout au début de la gestation d’un projet de recherche afin de lui permettre de se développer. C’est l’opportunité de concrétiser un projet qui n’existe encore que sur papier !